Change GRUB command line


While installing Ubuntu on my old laptop, I had to manually enter the pci=noacpi to the boot parameters so that it would boot. I searched how to add it permanently but the GRUB settings were not the same as I searched. So, I tried to search and change it myself. Here are the steps I performed to add the extra parameters at the end of the boot command.

Open the /etc/default/grub in your favourite editor.

vi /etc/default/grub

Locate the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX in the file and add the commands you need between the quotes.

Once this is done, we need to regenerate the grub.cfg file. To do run the following command

sudo update-grub

This updates the

/boot/grub/grub.cfg

file

You are all set. Just reboot and press “e” to check if the new parameters are present and from next boot onwards it should work fine.

Leave a Reply

